Banner Image

Undergraduate Study

“You have the opportunity to learn from some world-renowned scholars at Union Theological College and there is a real sense of community.”

(Graham Mullan, Bachelor of Divinity)

Union College welcomes applications from students of all ages, from all parts of the world, and of any (or no) denominational background. All applications  for full-time Queen's University undergraduate courses must be made through UCAS.

All full-time undergraduate degree programmes in Theology are of 3 years' duration. Students are required to take 18 courses (or modules), normally 6 per year.

At Union College we offer a wide range of options in all our degree programmes. In your first year, you will be introduced to all the main  theological disciplines and in your second year you will again choose courses from across a range of disciplines. In your final year you can either choose to spread your module choices across a variety of subjects or you can choose to specialise in one or more of the subject areas. Dissertation and Research Project modules are available options.

Most of our students do a BD or BTh as a single honours degree in Theology. The main difference is that Greek and Hebrew modules are compulsory for BD but optional for BTh.

The BA degree gives you the opportunity to do a Joint Honours degree in Theology and another subject in Humanities. Joint degrees are available with English, History and Philosophy.

There is also a 2-year Diploma in Theology.

BD and BTh (single honours) pathways are also available on a part-time basis.