Banner Image

Bachelor of Divinity (BD)

  • UCAS Code: V600
  • Duration: 3 Years

Module Structure & Content

In the first year (or Level 1) students take a range of 6 theological modules which serve as an introduction to the main areas of study. BD students must take the Introduction to Biblical module. In the remaining years (Levels 2 and 3) students complete 6 modules at Level 2 and 6 modules at Level 3. At Level 2 students are required to spread their module choices across several disciplines, but Level 3 offers the opportunity for more specialisation. BD students must include at least 2 x Level 2 modules that are based on Greek or Hebrew texts.

Year 1

In the first year BD students must take a total of 6 modules, all of which are compulsory:

Year 2

In Year 2 students must take a total of 6 modules, 2 of which are compulsory and 4 optional modules.

Students must take the following 2 modules:

Students must choose the remaining 4 modules from below, with at least one module being taken from 4 of the 5 areas:

Old Testament

New Testament


Church History

Practical Theology

Year 3

In Year 3 students take a total of 6 modules which can be chosen across any subject area, and can include a Dissertation or Research Project option.

Independent Research

Old Testament/New Testament

Church History/Theology/Philosophy

Practical Theology