Banner Image

Bachelor of Theology (BTh)

  • UCAS Code: V612
  • Duration: 3 Years (FT)

Course Programme

The main areas of study are: Old Testament, New Testament, Systematic Theology, Church History, Pastoral Theology, Greek Language, and Hebrew Language. Special modules include Youth Ministry, CS Lewis Studies, Major World Religions, Ethics and Missiology.

Module Structure & Content

In the first year (or Level 1) students take a range of 6 theological modules which serve as an introduction to the main areas of study. In the remaining years (Levels 2 and 3) students complete 6 modules at Level 2 and 6 modules at Level 3. At Level 2 students are required to spread their module choices across several disciplines, but Level 3 offers the opportunity for more specialisation, including dissertation modules.

This degree programme will be replaced by a new Bachelor of Arts in Theology degree which commences in 2018.

Year 1

In the first year student's must take a total of 6 theological modules, which are an introduction to the main area of study.

The following 5 modules are compulsory:

Students must choose the final module from the following:

Year 2

During the second year students take 6 modules which are spread across several disciplines. Of the 6 modules at least one module must be taken from 4 of the 5 areas set out below:

Old Testament

New Testament


Church History

Practical Theology

Optional Courses may also be selected from the following:

Year 3

In the third year students will take a total of 6 modules, which can be chosen from any subject area:

Independent Research

Old Testament/New Testament

Church History/Theology/Philosophy

Practical Theology

Biblical Languages